10 June 2021

EFC Governance update 2021

On Wednesday, 9 June 2021, EFC Members gathered online for the 32nd Annual General Assembly, the first AGA for both the EFC Chair, Angel Font, and CEO, Delphine Moralis.

This was a welcome opportunity to look back at 2020 with the launch of the first-ever online EFC Annual Review, to showcase current activities and plans for the future, and to confirm the statutory approval of the annual accounts 2020 and governance changes following the online vote by EFC Membership.

Governing Council

As announced to all members in February 2021 by the EFC Chair Angel Font and the Nomination Committee Chair, Andrea Silvestri, the Governing Council renewal process was exceptionally skipped in 2021. As the EFC-Dafne convergence process is expected to be finalised by the end of the year, it was agreed that ongoing members of the Governing Council shall remain in office until the convergence process comes to a close (in compliance with article XI of the EFC Statutes).

The Governing Council slate approved by EFC Membership at the AGA 2020 will therefore remain in office, with the following composition:

  • “la Caixa” Foundation
  • Carnegie UK Trust
  • Charities Aid Foundation
  • Charles Stewart Mott Foundation
  • DOTS Foundation for an Open Society
  • European Cultural Foundation
  • Finnish Cultural Foundation
  • Fondation Chanel
  • Fondation de France
  • Fondazione Cariplo
  • Fondazione Compagnia di San Paolo
  • Fundação Calouste Gulbenkian
  • IKEA Foundation
  • Jacobs Foundation
  • King Baudouin Foundation
  • Körber-Stiftung
  • Mozaik Foundation
  • National Foundation for Civil Society Development – Croatia
  • Oak Foundation
  • Open Estonia Foundation
  • Realdania
  • Riksbankens Jubileumsfond
  • Robert Bosch Stiftung GmbH
  • Sabanci Foundation
  • Stavros Niarchos Foundation
  • Stefan Batory Foundation
  • Stiftung Mercator GmbH
  • TrustAfrica
  • Vehbi Koç Foundation
  • VolkswagenStiftung

Management Committee

  • The terms of Antti Arjava, Finnish Cultural Foundation and Vesna Bajsanski-Agic, Mozaik Foundation, came to an end at the AGA2021.
  • Vesna Bajsanski-Agic, who finished her first term on the Management Committee, was confirmed for a second term with the approval of the Assembly.
  • Antti Arjava had to step down with the end of his second consecutive term on the Management Committee, in compliance with the one-year break rule. The EFC Chair and all members expressed their gratitude for Mr Arjava’s long-standing commitment to the EFC and for his contribution to the advancement of the European philanthropic sector.
  • Jesper Nygård, Realdania was appointed to fill the vacant seat on the Management Committee until the end of the EFC-Dafne convergence process. The EFC Statutes prescribe the Management Committee to be composed of 7 members, and Mr Nygård kindly agreed to take office for this limited period of time, as according to the EFC-Dafne Memorandum of Understanding the Board of the new organisation shall be composed of 6 members from the EFC constituency. Mr Nygård is a very active and committed member of the convergence working groups leading this process, and his contribution was unanimously acknowledged by the Assembly.

The Management Committee slate approved by EFC Membership by online vote is as follows:

Chair: Mr Angel Font, “la Caixa” Foundation (2020 – 2023; 1st term)

Vice-Chair: Ms Axelle Davezac, Fondation de France (2019 – 2022; 1st term)

Treasurer: Ms Christina Lambropoulou, Stavros Niarchos Foundation (2020 – 2023; 2nd term)


  • Ms Vesna Bajsanski-Agic, Mozaik Foundation (2021 – 2024; 2nd term)
  • Mr Rui Esgaio, Fundação Calouste Gulbenkian (2020 – 2023; 2nd term)
  • Ms Marika Hedin, Rijksbankens Jubileumsfond (2020 – 2023; 1st term)
  • Mr Jesper Nygård, Realdania (2021 – 2024; 1st term)

Nomination Committee

The mandate of the Chair, Andrea Silvestri, Fondazione CRC came to an end after the extension agreed at the AGA 2020. The EFC Chair, Angel Font thanked Mr Silvestri for his many years of tireless work in the EFC, as well as for his dedication to shaping the governance of the new organisation resulting from the convergence.

Similarly to the Governing Council, all other Nomination Committee members will remain in office until the convergence process is finalised, in the interest of continuity.

Find out more on the Governance of the EFC.