6 June 2019

Press release: Körber-Stiftung to gift its share of Philanthropy House to the EFC

Brussels, 6 June 2019 – Körber-Stiftung has announced that it will gift its share of Philanthropy House to the EFC, as part of the commemorations of the EFC’s 30th anniversary. The historic gift supports the EFC’s role, both in the present and the future, of championing institutional philanthropy in Europe and helps safeguard the future of Europe’s philanthropy infrastructure.

The announcement was made by Klaus Wehmeier, Chairman of the Körber-Stiftung Advisory Board, during the EFC’s 30th Annual General Assembly (AGA) and Conference in Paris, hosted by the Fondation de France and several other leading French philanthropic organisations. Körber-Stiftung will officially transfer their share to the EFC in November this year.

The six founders of the building – Fritt Ord Foundation, King Baudouin Foundation, Körber-Stiftung, Realdania, Stichting Fonds 1818, and the Van Leer Group Foundation – conceived Philanthropy House in 2009 to be a home for institutional philanthropy organisations in Europe. Philanthropy House opened in 2013 and today hosts the EFC and several other philanthropic support organisations.

“On behalf of the entire EFC, I am honoured and humbled by this fantastic and generous gift from Körber-Stiftung,” said Gerry Salole, EFC’s Chief Executive. “It reflects a deep trust and confidence in the EFC and our work, a manifestation of their faith in our ability to continue this going forward. We look forward to formally acknowledging and thanking Körber-Stiftung at our anniversary event in November.”

Sara Llewellin first woman to receive EFC Compass Prize
The conference also saw Sara Llewellin, the Chief Executive of the Barrow Cadbury Trust, being awarded the EFC Compass Prize which recognises those who have made an outstanding contribution to the development of the European philanthropic sector. This is the fifth ever prize awarded since its launch ten years ago and Sara Llewellin is the first woman to receive this recognition.

Changes in EFC Governance
During the AGA, Sara Llewellin and Axelle Davezac, General Director of Fondation de France, were unanimously elected as the EFC’s new Vice Chair (replacing Klaus Wehmeier from Körber-Stiftung) and Member of the Management Committee respectively. The following organisations were elected to join the EFC’s Governing Council for a 3-year term (2019-2022) replacing those whose terms had ended:

  • Charles Stewart Mott Foundation represented by Shannon Lawder
  • European Cultural Foundation represented by André Wilkens
  • IKEA Foundation represented by Truus Huisman
  • Stiftung Mercator represented by Wolfgang Rohe
  • Vehbi Koç Foundation represented by Erdal Yildirim

2020 EFC annual conference theme announced
Franz Karl Prueller
of ERSTE Stiftung, next year’s Conference Host, announced the theme of the Conference as “Foundations and the new normal – How to innovate philanthropy?” which will take place in Vienna from 20-22 May 2020. Click here to see the trailer.